Much Love Monday: Germany.

28June10 at 6:53 pm 6 comments

Always.

I love: Germany.

Come on, it was a 4-1 win for Germany! If you had caught the nerve-wrecking match between Germany and England last night, you would’ve definitely experienced some major heart palpitations. I know I did. From an hour before the match till the 92nd minute of the match, my heart was beating so fast, that I didn’t know what to do. Not to mention that throughout three quarts of the entire match, I was entirely anxious and out of my seat, jumping and turning around in excitement (especially during all 4 goals and goals-to-be/almost-goals).

Much controversies in regards to the denied England goal (think karma, 1966) but nevertheless, Germany proved to be the better team at the end of the day. Despite being a big time German fan, I honestly thought England could’ve kept up despite that goal – it should have pushed them even harder to score against the Germans. All in the mind, really. England had very good shots at the goal, but Neuer managed to prevent ’em from going in. That’s job well done there for the German keeper.

I’m extremely proud of the German team simply because as they advanced throughout the group matches, they got very much better. They were focused and played really well as a team. I admire how their goals were planned so beautifully and oh my, their teamwork is pretty much excellent. Their strategy of spreading the English players apart, to prepare a clear path for the goal, truly worked. Amazing. I was really, really impressed. Such brilliance.

Now to savor the win, yet again. And to focus on the quarter-finals against Argentina. It’s your year to take the cup home, Germany! Fight hard!

Though one thing – I wished I could’ve taken Schweinsteiger’s jersey when he exchanged it with Lampard. :( If only.

Entry filed under: Much Love Monday, Noteworthy. Tags: , .

Sugar High. Much Love Monday: Flower Petals.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cristina  |  28June10 at 9:47 pm

    I’m glad that Germany won! But the England goal that they denied it really was a goal!
    When I knew the final result one of the persons I think about was you :D
    Don’t you think they’re making a lot of mistakes in the arbitrage?

    Hope Spain gets the next round too!

    Love!
    xxx

  • 2. Chloe  |  29June10 at 1:08 am

    Yay to Germany! :D
    And I agree with you, the disallowed goal should have pushed them to fight even harder. I really thought England would have kept it really tight and fight really hard till the last minute.
    But guess not. Besides all the England fans are just complaining over the disallowed goal and how it would have changed the entire game. Pffft.
    Ah the goalkeeper is excellent!
    Also, I don’t get the exchange of jerseys between them, was it some friendship thing?

  • 3. Sarah  |  29June10 at 1:31 am

    Cristina: Yeah I don’t doubt that it was really a goal either. It passed the line anyway. :) But it’s pretty much karma like in the Wembley match in 1966.

    Aww, I’m glad I popped into your mind the first thing you found out that they won! :D In fact, yes I think they are making heaps of mistakes. But well, it’s pretty much human errors (though we can never really find out). Nevertheless, the game goes on. And all the best to Spain! :) Will be watching the match! x

    Chloe: I totally hear ya, Chloe! Y’know, not all but just some specific England fans are incredibly whiny and in absolute denial about the whole match. That denied goal should have really given them that extra push they needed but nope, not at all. Honestly, I don’t think it would’ve changed at all. Even if it would have, it’ll only change a tiny bit. The players themselves should’ve known better. Credits be given, they were close to scoring some really good goals but the German keeper was ace at all he did throughout. Did you see how his fingers pushed the ball away? Just by his fingers! That was amazing. How much some England fans thought they deserved to win, they should really realize that the best team won in the end. And nobody can deny that the Germans played a better game than the English men.

    The exchange is a sign of good sportsmanship. And I’m thinking they’d want to have a little personal collection of those they played against throughout their career. :) I’m still wishing I got his jersery! Haha.

  • 4. The Owl Diary  |  2July10 at 3:27 am

    Confession: I didn’t watch any of the world cup games.
    I think I was the only one.
    xx

  • 5. Cristina  |  4July10 at 3:27 am

    Germany won again!! Congrats to you too :D

    Spain is playing right now.. not a great 1st half tho..

    xxx

  • 6. Cristina  |  4July10 at 4:44 am

    Spain won!!!!!!
    Our teams will fight for the victory.. this time I won’t be happy if Germany wins.. :)

    xxxx

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In The Moment *

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

A Little Note *

Some photos are taken from other sources - click on photo for its original source. However, if there are no links, they are self-taken and rightfully belong to yours truly.

