Crossing Over.

27November09 at 5:34 pm 15 comments

Confession: I had a very, very satisfying shopping spree the past few days; an excellent retail therapy, indeed. Happy sigh.

A little walk through my little shopping trip down south that lasted me for about three days and two nights. I went to Singapore with two of my aunts wanting to shop quite a bit. We arrived in the afternoon, dropped our luggages at the hotel and off we walked along the infamous Orchard Road of Singapore. Ah, bliss. We rushed to grab a quick bite and continued shopping all the more. By evening, we journeyed to my grand uncle’s place in Mt. Sinai. Oh my, his apartment unit was beyond gorgeous and all decorated for Christmas already (as pictured in the first two photos)! Not to mention, my cute four-month-old cousin! He’s like a little Michelin (the tire brand) boy – yeah, he’s that chubby. Flabs all around, no kid. Too cute!

Aight, moving on to the beauty of Orchard Road during the Christmas season…

Ion Orchard was just amazing. Loved everything about this new mall! – Both inside & outside. Lovelove.

The Christmas decorations along the whole street was plain fantastic. The glittering lights and all things Christmas was seen everywhere. Everywhere! I felt so satisfied – I’ve been wanting to experience the beauty of Orchard Road during Christmas for many years now and this year, I finally experienced it. Twas amazing! This year, there were three colors – blue (the most beautiful), orange and red. The street was divided into three sections, all color coordinated. Each shopping mall displayed their own identity and creativity through their decorations. It was all too beautiful. This year’s decorations are apparently the best yet. Ah, I’m so satisfied. I totally loved the decorations. Gorgeous, gorgeous!

Notice the little entrance?

This is what it’s like inside the big Christmas tree. :) Such beauty!


I’m thinking of going back again in December, hehe!

Entry filed under: Her World, Here & There. Tags: , , .

Pack Away. Hello December.

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. *Valentine*  |  27November09 at 6:10 pm

    YAY!!!
    I wanna live int he big Christmas tree (where ther’s a little entrance! lol)
    So much fun!

    I love all those Xmas lights & decorations.
    I can’t wait for buying & making my presents (I’m doing some stuffs with my hands, you’ll see the result, I can’t wait!)

    Take care my Lovely!

  • 2. darren.h  |  27November09 at 11:20 pm

    lol… Ion Orchard is AWESOME rite =)

    All the super xtra chun stuff there =)

    haha i got pics of the giant tree tooo heh heh ;)

  • 3. Lee En  |  28November09 at 12:10 am

    Ahhhh bring me bring me!!!

  • 4. Eliza  |  29November09 at 1:25 am

    oh my, what beautiful decorations, i’m in awe! i especially adore the tree with the little magical entrance. i would love to take a peek inside as well. thank you for sharing these delightful pictures with all of us sarah <3

  • 5. Fern  |  30November09 at 3:59 pm

    Daym.
    That’s all I can say. Haha!

  • 6. Danielle  |  1December09 at 6:52 am

    Love this post! Especially the ribbon “LOVE” picture!

    http://www.antiquatedtreasures.blogspot.com

  • 7. szemay  |  1December09 at 10:15 am

    Hey, the next time you come down in Dec, go take a bus all the way to Marina Square from Orchard. There are more Christmas lights, and even more beautiful than Orchard’s. :) Or just walk all the way from Plaza Singapura, although that would take you ages! it’s worth it. :)

  • 8. Sarah  |  1December09 at 10:47 am

    *Valentine*: I know, right! I felt that way too when I walked into the little entrance. Absolutely enchanting. Ah, I love buying Christmas presents – trying to think what’s the best gift ever.

    I always strive to make Christmas cards for everyone (more than 30 people) but I end up only making for those closest to me, hehe. Too time consuming! I don’t have much holidays in December, that’s why. Boo. Well, I can’t wait to see what you’re up to, love! x

    Darren H: I saw your pictures already! Envy, envy. I think I can officially say that Ion Orchard is my favorite mall, yet. Haha.

    Lee En: Aww! But Christmas in the States is gonna be real nice too, innit? :)

    Eliza: Singapore is ace when it comes to their Christmas decorations, really. You should consider a trip down there. :) You won’t regret, I promise.

    Fern: Hahahaha! Tell me about it. Mm. Don’t you wanna go to Singapore all the more now? :P

    Danielle: Oh, I loved that too! I took many pictures of it from different angles, hehe. I’ve been in love with the ribbon font thing as well. And thanks, sweetie. :) x

    Sze May: Hey May! Oh? I didn’t know. Boo. But if I do go down in Dec, I’ll go check it out, defo. Hehe. If Orchard is already so beautiful, I can’t imagine how else better can it get. Hurr. Oh, I stayed in Orchard, so everyday I just walked up and down, and up and down, haha! I didn’t even have time to go to Vivo City! Bleh. But thanks so much for the info, hehe!

    And you know what! I’m so irritated with Singtel, heh. I went to the tourist center to ask them about the wireless@sg ID (Jan told me about it), then they told me to head to Singtel in Taka, show them my passport and they’ll give me the ID. I went to Singtel, queued up for 40 minutes and the guy gave me a number to wait for after I told him about what I wanted. When my number was called, the lady told me that I needed a local line to register for the ID and stuff. Even with my passport, it’s all invalid. -__- so misleading! They could’ve told me earlier that I needed a local line. Rawrr. I wasted like almost an hour of shopping time. :( Oh, Singtel.

    Hehe, anyway! Are you coming home in Dec for Christmas? :)

  • 9. Lookingglassgirl  |  1December09 at 9:12 pm

    Ooh, I like those sculptured people and Orchard Road looks pretty.

  • 10. Lee En  |  1December09 at 11:21 pm

    Yea it will but its too cold to go anywhere nice. Haha:p And I got exams until the 23rd, which totally sucks. Its supposed to be snowing by now but the weather has been really weird, according to the locals. But its really cold right now. Its now like 1 degrees celsius. You can see your breath when you’re outside. Hehe:p

  • 11. Sarah  |  2December09 at 9:56 pm

    Looking Glass Girl: It was difficult trying to snap a decent shot of the sculptured people ‘cos too many people wanted to snap photos with them too. And oh yes, Orchard Road is beyond gorgeous! I’m sure you’ll love it as much as I do.

    Lee En: Ooh, snow! Hehehe. I want snow here. :( Hurr. But I guess if that happens, I should be very worried. Poor you, exams till the 23rd! That’s like right before Christmas! I shouldn’t be complaining, should I? Since mine ends on the 16th. It’s been raining almost everyday here now. But cold is nice! Well I haven’t really experienced 1 degrees’ celsius but I’m sure it’s really cold, haha. Wear those gorgeous jackets! Ahem! ;) More reasons to go Christmas shopping for yourself? *grin*

  • 12. SzeMay  |  3December09 at 1:53 pm

    Haha, what an “essay”! But yeah, you need a Singaporean line to register. Registration does not require all those traveling you did though. You can register on the spot online. But if you need an ID, call me and use mine la. Ask Jan for my number haha. I stay on my own now, and am very very near town!

    And yes, I’ll be home for Christmas. :)

  • 13. Sarah  |  3December09 at 2:48 pm

    Sze May: Ahaks, yeah I realized I could register online while queuing up at the Singtel counter. But then I realized (a whole lot of realization!) I needed a local line to register. Haha, oh well! But yeah, I’ll ask him for your number – Don’t know why I (we) didn’t think of that. Hehs. Ah, where do you stay now? Oh right, you graduated already! Hahaha, I somehow kept thinking that you’re still staying on campus. =p

  • 14. Signed, Yours Truly. « simply sporadic  |  14June10 at 6:56 pm

    […] I’ll be boarding the coach and will be heading down south to Singapore for a short weekend getaway with my best friend. We’ve been planning to have this trip quite […]

  • 15. Le Rêve. « simply sporadic  |  14June10 at 6:56 pm

    […] shopping for all the things on my list on the first night itself. Have I mentioned how much I love Ion Orchard? It’s looveee! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In The Moment *

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

A Little Note *

Some photos are taken from other sources - click on photo for its original source. However, if there are no links, they are self-taken and rightfully belong to yours truly.

