Let’s Rewind.

9March09 at 1:15 pm 2 comments

from-slumdog-millionaire

People around the world decided to catch Slumdog Millionaire on the big screens after its win on 8 Academy Awards. And I, too, decided to join in the bandwagon. 

I could relate pretty well with the movie as they mentioned about the great Amitabh Bachan who was everyone’s favorite – he was pretty much my favorite actor since I was four years of age. He starred in many good Hindi movies that I used to watch everyday after kindergarten. There’s this one particular Hindi movie that made me cry like a baby when I was 5, and the scene showed how he had died. Oh how my heart broke. Now, that’s one.

The second thing is that the guy who hosted ‘Who Wants To Be A Millionaire’, Anil Kapoor? Yes, I was never a fan of his only because he’s always been the antagonist character in most Hindi movies. He was downright evil, really. Hence, my strong dislike towards him. Now we all know how much a fan of Hindi movies I am, yes?

Okay, anyway back to the movie. I thought it was good but not too excellent. They depicted the life of slumdogs in Bombay very well but there were scenes that I was just thinking, “When is it going to end?”. The ending was pretty much predictable and I was disappointed with the closing – their dance performance, the significant characteristic of all Hindi movies. The two stars, Jamal Malik and Latika, could not dance at all and the dance moves were bad. I thought it was a real letdown. I know most people hate the long dance scenes in Hindi movies but I love it when it’s good. Don’t worry, they weren’t dancing around trees and rolling down the hills. ;) It was just a train station platform. By the way, I thought the little boy who played Jamal Malik when he was a kid (Cue picture as posted above.), was extremely adorable! *grin*

A plus point for myself? I didn’t need the subtitles to understand when they conversed in Hindi! It’s been more than a decade since I last spoke a sentence in Hindi and I’m glad I still can understand. I guess I do like this movie because I can relate to it’s Hindi background very well. I’ve been finding for friends who are fans of Hindi movies and only found a hand full. Anyone out there?

I’ve tried to pull Jan along with me many times to watch a Hindi movie but it never happened, humph. :D

wp33

Entry filed under: Here & There. Tags: .

True Colors On Display. Sawadeekaa.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peachy  |  12March09 at 7:24 pm

    OMG YOU CAN SPEAK HINDI?

    awesome.

  • 2. Sarah  |  16March09 at 10:45 am

    Haha i used to be able to speak like proper sentences but now.. words? Haha!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In The Moment *

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

A Little Note *

Some photos are taken from other sources - click on photo for its original source. However, if there are no links, they are self-taken and rightfully belong to yours truly.

